Mechanism vs. Humanism

It has been less than a month since I was behind a bar.

I find it the best use of my time to see how the floor flows while I am eating out, forgive me. I can’t help it, I want to see all the bottlenecks and opportunities.

This post is about the mechanism bars out there. The ones that remove the theatre, with machines, remove the human personality. My example today is the “liquor gun” system

These machines are made to add “accountability” and speed to the system behind the bar. I can say empirically that they do neither with any degree of accuracy or consistency.

They just take away the reason you came, the feeling the person gives you. Good or bad, it’s why we came, rather then sat at home for a better price.

I am constantly reminded of the 3 P’s in hospitality, Place, Product & People.

Place is the four walls, the look, the feel, the ambiance.
Product is the drink, the fare, the method
People is every living and breathing person in the place that bears the brand.

The #1 reason we come back is the people, the way they serve, the way they react, and how proactive the manger is…the people.

People buy why you do it, not what you do. They don’t care how “haute” your French cuisine is, if it is served without fervor and personality. (or a lick of French;)

Don’t mechanize, invest in the people, make them know why and be able to covey it with every step.

– pg

Leave a Reply

